GCSEs (Key Stage 4) are undertaken by pupils aged 15 and 16, with study beginning in Year 1 and final exams at the end of Year 11. Pupils during this stage of their education are heading towards further education, and most sixth forms and colleges use GCSE results as their entry requirements, usually requiring pupils to achieve a certain number of A*-C grades to be offered a place.

There are three compulsory GCSEs, and during Year 9 pupils are given some freedom to choose others from the subjects offered by the school. Most subjects can only be studied at A-Level if they have been studied at GCSE, so it is very important that students consider their options carefully.

Subjects are taught by specialised teachers, in classes grouped by ability.

Compulsory national curriculum subjects are:

  • English (Literature and Language)
  • Mathematics
  • Science

Other subjects that will be studied over the two years are:

  • Computing/ICT
  • Physical Education
  • Citizenship

Schools must also offer at least one course in each of these four areas:

  • Arts (e.g. Drama, Art, Media Studies, Music)
  • Design & Technology (e.g. Food Technology, Graphic Design, Electronics)
  • Humanities (e.g. History & Geography)
  • Modern Foreign Languages (e.g. French, German, Spanish)


Our Approach

At The Tutorial Centre, our goal is not only to help children achieve the best results possible, but also to help them manage their own learning. Most children at this level already have their own way of studying that suits them best, and our teachers work with them to develop that further, whilst inspiring them to excel at every opportunity. Doing well in their GCSEs is the first step in succeeding in their A-Levels and then at University, and we aim to support your child from the very beginning of that journey.