National Curriculum Assessments, or SATs, are statutory assessments taken by children in Year 2 and Year 6.

SATs can help teachers and parents learn more about a child’s strengths and weaknesses, how much they have improved from one Key Stage to another, and can indicate how well they will perform in the GCSEs. They are also used to identify areas in which schools are struggling, and where they need to make improvements in their teaching.


Key Stage 1

The first set of SATs are taken at age 7, at the end of Year 2. There are two standard tests, plus an optional one introduced in 2017.

  • Mathematics (arithmetic & reasoning)
  • English reading
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling (optional)

Teachers will make their own assessments on science, writing, speaking and listening.


Key Stage 2

The second set of SATs are taken at age 11, at the end of Year 6. There are three currently three tests.

  • Grammar
  • Punctuation and Spelling
  • Mathematics

Other subjects, such as science, writing, speaking and listening are teacher assessed as before.



Our Approach

At The Tutorial Centre, we know that these tests can be stressful for both you and your child, so we want to provide first-rate education in a calm, comfortable environment. Our teachers are experienced in delivering material in ways that children find accessible, engaging and challenging. We tailor our teaching to the ages of our students, and ensure that every child receives supportive, inspiring tutoring that helps them to unlock their own potential and get the best possible results.